Eta Sigma Phi Leadership and Membership

2020-2021 Officers:

Prytanis (President): Katrina Kuxhausen
Hyparchos (Vice President): Sam Whitthorne
Grammateus (Secretary): Amanda Platt
Chrysophylax (Treasurer): Emily Hale

Faculty Advisor

Professor Philip Waddell

Prospective Members

If you are interested in becoming a member of the U of A's chapter of Eta Sigma Phi, Eta Iota, and you meet at least one of the three requirements listed below, please contact the chapter Prytanis.

Membership Requirements

  • Active membership is limited to undergraduates who are enrolled in classes of Greek and/or Latin in the original languages. A student must meet the basic qualification of not less than "B" in courses in Greek and Latin, with completion of at least one semester.
  • Associate membership is open to graduate students who were undergraduate members of Eta Sigma Phi and graduate students in Classics elected under the requirements of membership.
  • Honorary membership is conferred upon persons selected by the chapter for their interest in the Classics and contributions to the understanding and appreciation of classical languages, history and culture.